Year 13 Presentation Evening 2014

Former pupil Joanne Milner, Chief Executive of Debrett’s helps celebrate success at St. Mary’s

Former student Ms Joanne Milner recently joined students, parents and staff at St. Mary’s, Menston for the annual Year 13 Presentation Evening.  Joanne was a student at St. Mary’s from 1987 to 1994.  Just over two years ago she was appointed Chief Executive of Debrett's, responsible for positioning its contemporary interpretation in the UK whilst also leading its global expansion. 

St. Mary’s A-level results obtained in the summer enabled no fewer than 86% of the students to go to University to embark on their chosen degree courses. Students returned to receive not only their A-level certificates but also special individual subject and community awards. 

Subject Awards

Subject Prize winners
Art Rachel Bokor
Applied Science Thomas Clapham
Biology Robert Cadge
Chemistry Phoebe Tate
Economic Alan Gray and Daniel Atkinson
English Language Alice Slater
English Literature Madeline Tysoe
English Dual Georgia Tate
Food Technology Emily Fieldhouse
French Alice Slater
General Studies James Riley
German Thomas Turner
Government and Politics Caitlin Hopkinson
Geography Gabriella Roberts
Health and Social Charlotte Hassman
History Lucy Featherstone
ICT Jade Rigby-Williams
Mathematics Emily Middlebrough
Further Maths Simon Cadge
Special Maths Zachary Zajicek
Music Matthew Spalding
PE Ryan Clarke
Physics Chloe Tindale
Product Design Laura Bastow
Btec Sports Studies Eve Boardman
Psychology Justine Wood
Theatre Studies Aimee Goodman
Theology Bethany Leach

Special Prizes

Prize Prize winners
Highest Points Score at A-level Kavindu Appuhamy
Highest Average Points Score at A-level Zachary Zajicek
Greatest Progress from Key Stage 4 to A-level Alice Dolan
The Kevin Leaver Memorial Geography Prize Luke Allan
Sports College Award for Excellence in Sport Georgia Malir
Mathematics Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Matthew Ginty
Science Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Elizabeth Rogozinski
PE Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Chloe Tindale
English Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Michael Nisbet
Humanities Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Emily Fieldhouse
Creative Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Rosie Summers
Religious Education Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Charlie Walker
Modern Foreign Languages Award for Outstanding Student Leadership Cecilia Bull
Molybdenum Prize for Creative Thinking in Chemistry Simon Cadge
Stephen Botterill Award for Excellence in the Physics of Forces and Motion Michael Jones
Otley Lions Achievement Awards Daniel Atkinson
Rachel Bokor
Governors' Award Charlie Walker
Kavindu Appuhamy,
Chloe Tindale
Charlotte Hatton
The Bambisanani Partnership Award and Diana Award Kavindu Appuhamy
Elizabeth Banks
Ryan Clake
Patrick Connolly
Emily Fieldhouse
Elizabeth Garnett
Michael Jones
Freya O’Connor
Jade Rigby-Williams
James Riley
Hannah Smith
Chloe Tindale
Madeline Tysoe
Charlie Walker
The Sbonelo Magwaza Award Kavindu Appuhamy

“We were delighted to welcome so many students and their families to celebrate their achievements. It was particularly fitting that the awards were presented by ex-student Joanne Milner in the school’s 50th anniversary year. Joanne gave an inspirational and insightful speech and we would like to thank her for joining us in this celebration.”
— Mr Darren Beardsley, Headteacher

Music on the evening was provided by music students Matthew Spalding, Matthew Allen and Caitlin Dylak.