GCSE Celebration of Achievement Evening November 2018

The outstanding GCSE results of St. Mary’s were celebrated this week at the annual Year 11 Celebration of Achievement Evening.  

Mr D Beardsley, Evie Malir (Erin’s Gift), Mr R Lavery, Mrs R Burrows

The outstanding GCSE results of St. Mary’s were last week celebrated at the annual Year 11 Achievement Evening. This year the school recorded superb GCSE results with 64% of students gaining grade 5 or above in both English and Maths GCSE and 85% of pupils achieving grades 9-4 in English and Maths. The average attainment 8 score was 56.

Guest of Honour on the evening was Mr Bob Lavery, who was Chair of Governors at St. Mary’s for many years. Mr Lavery is currently a Director of the Bishop Wheeler Catholic Multi-Academy Trust, having been involved in its establishment from the outset. Mr Lavery presented GCSE certificates and Subject Awards.

The evening was a wonderful celebration where the community shared in the outstanding achievement of St. Mary’s students.

Prize Winners

Individual Prize Winners

Subject Prize winners
Art Ciaran Hammond
Computing Milo Bentham
Drama William Sammon
Employment Skills Rhys Cranage
English Language Niamh Parmar
English Literature Erica Bowers
Food Technology Georgia Williams
French Alexandra Sorley
Geography May Gavin
German Gabriel Jones
Health and Social Lucie Adams
History Samuel Speed
Mathematics Finlay Jezzard
Media Studies Damian Farrelly
Music Matthew Speed
PE Stephen Ginty
Performing Arts Eve Wood
Product Design Edward Freeman
Religious Education Niamh Cullen
Science Samuel Slaboduch
Separate Sciences Rowan Wynn
Sports Studies Maria Farmer
Textiles Amy O'Hare
Travel and Tourism Juliano De Mendonca

Special Prizes

Prize Winner(s)
Highest Points Score at GCSE Gabriel Jones
Highest Progress 8 Score Jemimah Bentley
Highest Progress 8 Score Jonah Thorpe
Conduct Cup Fisher
Attendance Shield Wharton
Aireborough Rotary Service Above Self Blythe McCaul
Michelle Stott Memorial Award for PE Rachel Farmer
Martin Green Memorial Award for Excellence in Rugby Daniel Sellers
Erin’s Gift Evie Malir
The Sue Hope Award for ‘Living Out the Word’ Ronnie Baker

Music on the evening was provided by Samuel Clifford-Hassan and Samuel and Matthew Speed.

“The presentation evening was a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the outstanding GCSE results achieved by the students. We were also delighted to recognise the overall contribution that the students make to the school community, with this being demonstrated by the wide range of prizes awarded. I would like to congratulate the students, staff and parents on this incredible success.”
— Mr Darren Beardsley, Headteacher